Snow Emergency Preparedness Information

Earlier today, I joined a call for councilmembers with City Administrator Rashad Young. D.C. government is in all-hands-on-deck mode for this potentially hazardous and historic storm. Our first priority will be to ensure the health and safety of residents and visitors, and then to begin the recovery, which likely will take multiple days.

Below is information to help you in case of emergency. I join Mayor Bowser, City Administrator Young, and my colleagues in urging you to take this storm very seriously, to complete all travel by early this afternoon, and to enjoy your home or that of family members or friends for the next 72 hours.

Thanks very much, and please let me know if I can be of assistance.

Elissa.

IMPORTANT NOTICES

  • First priority on snow clearing will be on first-responder routes. Given the predicted high winds and blizzard conditions, residential street plowing likely will begin on Sunday. You can track the snow plowing here.
  • If you are on a Thursday or Friday schedule for trash, DPW will collect by 3 p.m. today.
  • You can sign up for AlertDC at alertdc.dc.gov to receive text messages about the latest information on weather.

TRANSPORTATION INFORMATION

  • Metrorail will suspend both above and below ground service from 11 p.m. on Friday through Sunday.

  • Metrobus will operate on a severe snow weather plan on Friday. All routes will be suspended from 5 p.m. on Friday through Sunday.

  • MetroAccess paratransit service will suspend from 6 p.m. on Friday through Sunday. No new outbound trips will begin after 1 p.m. today.

 WHAT TO DO IF...

  • You experience a power outage: Call Pepco's 24-Hour Outage Report Line at 1-877-737-2662. For downed wires, call Pepco immediately at 877-737-2662 and press 2.
  • You have fallen trees or excessive debris: Call the Mayor's Citywide Call Center at 311 or report it online here.
  • Your car gets towed: Call 202-541-6083 for help finding it.
  • Your street has not been plowed: Check the live snow plow tracker at http://snowmap.dc.gov/.
  • You have an URGENT weather-related need or question, contact the appropriate Mayor’s Office of Community Relations and Services representative for your ward (see list below).

 

MAYOR’S OFFICE OF COMMUNITY RELATIONS AND SERVICES (MOCRS)

Role

Name

Shift

Email

Cell Phone

WARD 1

Gabriel Rojo

Day Shift : 6AM – 6PM

gabriel.rojo2@dc.gov

Cell-202-297-7548

WARD 1

Ben Case

Night Shift: 6PM – 6AM

Ben.case@dc.gov

Cell-202-285-9238

WARD 2

Eva Lewis

Day Shift : 6AM – 6PM

Eva.lewis@dc.gov

Cell-202-297-6566

WARD 2

Michael Lewis

Night Shift: 6PM – 6AM

Michael.lewis2@dc.gov

Cell-202-351-9533

WARD 3

Mike Matthews

Day Shift : 6AM – 6PM

michael.matthews@dc.gov

Cell-202-341-7706

WARD 3

Ian Maggard

Night Shift: 6PM – 6AM

Ian.maggard@dc.gov

Cell-202-340-7853

WARD 4

Khalil Thompson

Day Shift : 6AM – 6PM

khalil.thompson@dc.gov

Cell-202.340.8555

WARD 4

Jasmin Benab

Night Shift: 6PM – 6AM

Jasmin.benab@dc.gov

Cell-202-340-7059

WARD 5

Malik Williams

Day Shift : 6AM – 6PM

malik.williams@dc.gov

Cell-202.340.7141

WARD 5

Tommie Jones

Night Shift: 6PM – 6AM

tommie.jones@dc.gov

Cell-202-664-7512

WARD 6

Seth Shapiro

Day Shift : 6AM – 6PM

seth.shapiro@dc.gov

Cell-202-538-1241

WARD 6

Frank Maduro

Night Shift: 6PM – 6AM

frank.maduro@dc.gov

Cell-202-538-0313

WARD 7

Brian Wood

Day Shift : 6AM – 6PM

Brian.wood2@dc.gov

Cell-202-374-9282

WARD 7

Wendell Felder

Night Shift: 6PM – 6AM

Wendell.felder@dc.gov

Cell-202-251-9930

WARD 8

Derrick Colbert

Day Shift : 6AM – 6PM

Derrick.colbert@dc.gov

Cell-202-340-8313

WARD 8

Markus Batchelor

Night Shift: 6PM – 6AM

markus.batchelor2@dc.gov

Cell-202-251-8832

EMERGENCY WARMING SITES

If you experience a power outage or other emergency in which you cannot stay in your home, the following recreation centers are available to you for emergency shelter.

Location

Center

Address

WARD 1

Columbia Heights Rec Center

1480 Girard Street NW

WARD 2

Volta Park Rec Center

1555 34th Street NW

WARD 3

Chevy Chase Rec Center

5601 Connecticut Avenue NW

WARD 4

Riggs LaSalle Rec Center

501 Riggs Road NE

WARD 5

Turkey Thicket Rec Center

1100 Michigan Avenue NE

WARD 6

Rosedale Rec Center

500 19th Street NE

WARD 7

Hillcrest Rec Center

3100 Denver Street SE

WARD 8

Bald Eagle Rec Center

100 Joliet Street SW

 

If you or someone you know is homeless and has no permanent shelter, the following recreation centers are available for warming and emergency shelter.

Location

Center

Address

WARD 1

Banneker Rec Center

2500 Georgia Ave NW

WARD 2

Kennedy Rec Center

1401 7th Street NW

WARD 3

Guy Mason Rec Center

3600 Calvert Street NW

WARD 4

Emery Rec Center

5701 Georgia Avenue NW

WARD 4

Raymond Rec Center

3725 10th Street NW

WARD 5

Trinidad Rec Center

1310 Childress Street NE

WARD 6

King Greenleaf Rec Center

201 N Street SW

WARD 6

Sherwood Rec Center

640 10th Street NE

WARD 7

Fort Davis Rec Center

1400 41st Street SE

WARD 8

Fort Stanton Rec Center

1812 Erie Street SE